Weather Forecast


Roughriders split series with Vistas

MINOT — The regular-season finale between the Dickinson Roughriders and Minot Vistas was crucial as it helped determine the seeding for the North Dakota state tournament.

The Vistas took the opener 5-3, earning the No. 5 seed for the tournament on Friday at Corbett Field. Dickinson will be the No. 6 seed. The Roughriders will take on No. 3 seed Fargo Post 2 at 1 p.m. Wednesday in Jamestown in the opening round of the state tournament.

Both teams unleashed their offenses in Game 2 but Dickinson snapped its seven-game losing skid with a 10-8 win.

In Game 1, Dickinson scored first as Tanner Hopfauf hit a line drive to center field to drive in shortstop Dylan Skabo.

Minot’s offense, however, woke up and scored three runs in the third. Grant Larson, who was 1 for 3 with a run, hit a RBI single to center field to bring in Jake Magnuson. Larson and Austin Eggl scored on the next play after errors by both Andrew Heckaman and Alex Hushcka.

Dickinson closed the gap to one run in the fifth after Hopfauf again drove in Skabo. But the Vistas added two more runs in the top of the seventh to secure the win.

Hopfauf was 2 for 3 with two RBI. Skabo scored all three of the Roughriders’ runs.

Demitry Zafra was credited with the win after giving up three runs on eight hits in seven innings. He also struck out three and walked four. Mark Erickson got the start for Dickinson, but was tagged with the loss. Erickson allowed three earned runs on five hits in 6⅓ innings. Dylan Wallner came in for relief for the final two outs and allowed just one hit.

Going into the third inning of the offensive-driven Game 2, Dickinson held a 3-2 lead but opened the game up by scoring seven unanswered runs — five in the third — to take a 10-2 lead.

Hopfauf added to his stellar performance at bat going 2 for 3 with two runs and two RBI. Lucas Jones scored three runs.

The Vistas came roaring back, but was too late. Chandler Jacob scored three runs and drove in a RBI.

Dickinson used three different pitchers but Cole Anderson got the win. He gave up three runs on seven hits over six innings.

Game 1

Minot 003 000 2 — 5 6 2

Dickinson 100 100 1 — 3 8 2

Minot Demitry Zafra and Chandler Jacob. Dickinson, Mark Erickson, Dylan Wallner (7) and Cole Anderson.

W–Zafra. L–Erickson. HR–none.

Highlights: Minot, Austin Eggl 2 for 4, run, RBI; Grant larson 1 for 3, run, RBI; Jacob 1 for 3, run; Travis Walker run; Jake Magnuson run. Dickinson, Dylan Skabo 1 for 3, 3 runs; Tanner Hopfauf 2 for 3, 2 RBI;Lucas Jones 1 for 3; Cole Anderson 1 for 4; Wallner 1 for 1; Andrew Heckaman 1 for 3; Kendal Jones 1 for 3.

Game 2

Dickinson 305 020 0 — 10 12 4

Minot 200 010 5 — 8 9 7

Dickinson, Cole Anderson, Alex Huscha, Lucas Jones and Andrew Heckaman. Minot, Shawn Donaldson, Dalton Cooper, Hunter Duttenhefer, Trever Ringeon, Alex Arrayan and Braden Lach.

W–Cole Anderson. L–Name. HR– none.

Highlights: Dickinson, L. Jones 2 for 5, 3 runs; Hopfauf 2 for 3, 2 runs, 2 RBI; Heckaman 2 for 4, run, RBI; Mark Erickson run, RBI; Brett Schweitzer 1 for 3, run. Minot, Chandler Jacob 2 for 5, 3 runs, RBI; Duttenhefer 2 for 2, 2 RBI; Brady lampert 2 for 3, run.