Weather Forecast


Nominations are being taken for higher ed board

BISMARCK -- The nominating committee for the state Board of Higher Education is taking nominations for the board position now held by John Q. Paulsen of Fargo, whose term expires June 30.

He is eligible for reappointment to a second four-year term and said he'll seek reappointment.

"I enjoy the work and it's stimulating, to say the least," he said Thursday. "I would welcome the opportunity to serve again."

Paulsen is also in his second year as president of the board.

Prospective board members must apply by 4 p.m. March 21, said state Superintendent of Public Instruction Wayne Sanstead, chairman of the nominating committee. The committee will meet March 25 to choose three finalists from among the applicants and forward the names to Gov. John Hoeven for his decision.

To obtain an application form, those interested may call Sanstead's office at 701-328-4572 or write to him at the Capitol: 600 E. Boulevard Ave, Bismarck, N.D., 58505-0440. Applicants must submit a background resume and supporting references.

Others on the nominating committee are Chief Justice Gerald VandeWalle, North Dakota Education Association President Dakota Draper, state Senate President Pro Tempore Dwight Cook of Mandan and House Speaker Rep. Jeff Delzer, R-Underwood.

Janell Cole works for Forum Communications Co., which owns The Dickinson Press.