Weather Forecast


Dickinson Press claims 72 individual awards and Sweepstakes Award at 2008 NDNA

DICKINSON - The Dickinson Press garnered 72 overall individual awards en route to reclaiming the overall Sweepstakes Award for small daily newspapers during the North Dakota Newspaper Association's 2007 Better Newspaper Contest.

The awards were announced during the NDNA annual convention in Dickinson May 8-10.

The Dickinson Press earned 32 individual advertising awards and 40 individual editorial awards. The Sweepstakes Award is given to the newspaper that earns the largest number of overall points in a circulation category based upon an assigned value given to each individual placewinner.

The individual awards earned by The Dickinson Press staff are as follows:

Advertising division

Wendy Serhienko - First place, home/gardening ad; third place, food ad; honorable mention, single ad.

Jenn Binstock - First place, food ad; second place, vehicle ad; third place, small space ad; honorable mention, apparel ad, small space ad.

Terry Sheer - First place, health care ad; second place, apparel ad; third place, apparel ad, health care ad; honorable mention, home/gardening ad, vehicle ad.

Mandy Burman - First place, vehicle ad.

Katie Meher - First place, ad series, small space ad; second place, home/gardening ad; third place, home/gardening ad, outdoors/sports ad, financial ad; honorable mention, health care ad, use of color.

Mary Van Vleet - Honorable mention, promotion of the newspaper - readership.

Megan Halvorson - Second place, promotion of community.

Jerry Obrigewitsch - First place, promotion of the newspaper - readership; second place, promotion of the newspaper - advertising; honorable mention, food ad.

Staff - First place, special advertising section; third place, special advertising section; honorable mention, special advertising section.

Editorial division

Jeremy Chura - Second place, front page design excellence, headline.

Linda Sailer - First place, feature reporting series, picture story; second place, pictorial photo, standing news front; third place, section/feature fronts design, outdoor recreational photo.

Christinia Crippes - First place, personal column-humorous; second place, government reporting series; third place, government reporting, editorial, agriculture coverage, personal column-serious, news photo; honorable mention, business news reporting.

Alan Reed and Christinia Crippes - Second place, spot news.

Stefanie Briggs - First place, spot news; second place, agriculture coverage; third place, portrait photo, agriculture photo, government reporting series; honorable mention, feature reporting series.

Dustin Monke - First place, sports column, sports feature; third place, sports section; honorable mention, sports reporting series.

Matt Wellens - Second place, sports reporting series, honorable mention, sports column.

Chris Aarhus - First place, sports reporting series, third place, sports feature.

Alan Reed - First place, standing news front; second place, editorial, editorial page, section/feature fronts design.

Staff - First place, best Web site; second place, special news section; third place, overall design excellence.

The Dickinson Press - Sweepstakes winner.