Weather Forecast


Ballot Breakdown

The filing deadline for the spring election was April 9. Here is who will be on the ballot June 8. Keep your eye on The Press. We will list candidates from throughout the region daily in addition to stories on area races throughout the month.

Hettinger County

- Judge of District Court No. 4: William Herauf, incumbent

- County commissioner, District 2: Carson Kouba, Rob Larson, Ted Hardmeyer

- Auditor: Roy J. Steiner, incumbent

- County State's attorney: James D. Gion, incumbent

- County recorder/clerk of court: Sylvia Gion, incumbent

- County treasurer: Loran D. Rixen, incumbent

- County sheriff: Sarah Warner, incumbent

- Southwest Water Authority director: Raymond K. Bieber, incumbent

- County official newspaper: The Herald


- City Council (two positions): Connie Wax, incumbent, Don Wagendorf, incumbent

- Park District Members (three positions): Dorothy Sheldon, incumbent, Dorothy Christopherson, incumbent.

- Board of directors Regent Rural Fire: Terry Hartman, incumbent

New England

- Mayor: Larry Turner, incumbent, Tracy Barnett, Marty Opdahl

- City Commissioner Ward 1 (one position): No declared candidate

- City Commissioner Ward 2 (one position): Walter "Butch" Frank

- Commissioner Ward 3 (one position): Craig Turner, incumbent, Scott Schmidt

- Park District (three positions): No declared candidate


- Mayor: Corey D. Johnson, Troy Mosbrucker, incumbent

- City Alderman Ward 2 (four-year term): Kellen Messmer, incumbent

- City Alderman Ward 2 (two-year term): Eugene (Gene) Steiner, incumbent

- City Alderman Ward 3: Michael Wangsvick, Corey L. Warner

- Park District (Three positions): Geraldine (Gerrie) Jacobson, incumbent, Alan Kindt, incumbent

Bucyrus(Adams County)

- City Council (two positions): No declared candidates