Weather Forecast


Factfinding Commission to decide teacher contracts

Members of the Dickinson Public School Board and the Dickinson Education Association will meet with the Governor's Education Factfinding Commission to decide the matter of the 2013-15 teacher contracts.

This spring the two parties came to an impasse in May during the collaborative bargaining process.

"Board members will be at a table and the DEA members will be at a table and the Fact Finding Commission will be at a table," School Board President Kris Fehr said.

The hearing will take place at 3 p.m. Thursday at the Hagen Junior High gymnasium.

Each side, starting with the DEA, will get a chance to state their case and make rebuttal statements.

Members of the public are welcome to voice concerns at the meeting.

"It isn't just a free-for-all," Assistant Superintendent Vince Reep said. "Mr. (Dean) Rummel (Chairman of the Fact Finding Commission) will recognize those that would like to make comments and go appropriately."

Each party has given its data to the Fact Finding Commission and each other, Reep said.

The commission will then let the board and DEA know when to expect a decision.

In May the board offered an annual salary of $38,400 per year for new teachers, increasing to $40,200 per year in the second year, Fehr said previously told The Press. That offer was not accepted and Diana Stroud, president of the DEA, had no comment when contacted in May.

In other news:

Prairie Rose Elementary is still on schedule, despite outdoor construction delays due to the recent rain.

"We are still scheduled to take possession of that building in five weeks," Reep said.

The biggest inside projects are carpet, ceiling tile, the gym floor and bleachers, Reep said.

Teachers will beginning moving in July 8 and the district plans to take full possession of the building July 16.

"It still continues to be an awesome project," Reep said.

Katherine Grandstrand
I graduated from Bemidji State University in 2007 with a bachelor's degree in mass communcations, from Columbia College Chicago in 2009 with a master's degree in journalism.  
(701) 456-1206