Weather Forecast


N.D. Cowboy Hall of Fame announces inductees

MEDORA -- The North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame has announced 2014 inductees, who represent a variety of disciplines and time spans in the state’s history.

0 Talk about it

Celebrated saddle bronc rider and Dickinson native Wayne Herman leads the list of 10 inductees.

“For the Cowboy Hall of Fame, this is the highlight of the year -- inducting people who are outstanding performers and individuals,” executive director Kevin Holten said. “We intend to do right by them.”

The induction ceremony will occur at 1 p.m. on June 21 at Medora’s Tjaden Terrace. Deceased inductees will be represented by family members.

The inductees are:

-- Wayne Herman, who has won nearly every North American bareback riding championship and is a former PRCA world champion. He now ranches and teaches a rodeo school at Dickinson State University. He was recently named as a 2014 inductee into the Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame. Herman joins the hall as a modern-era rodeo inductee.

-- Richard Moore, a celebrated Golden Valley County rancher who was born in 1884 and lived until 92, continuing to ride and check his stock in his old age. He was known for his generosity and is being inducted as a pre-1940s rancher.

-- Stanley Pope, a rancher who spent a majority of his life at a ranch near Amidon. He was known as a quintessential community member, serving as Slope County’s deputy sheriff for 27 years. He will be inducted as a modern-era rancher.

-- Brooks Hereford Ranch, a ranch near Lansford nationally recognized for its Hereford breeding programs.

-- Andy Moore, an active influence in the state’s ranching industry during the 20th century. His ranch became known for its large register of Appaloosa horses. He is being inducted as a cowboy long rider.

-- Blaisdell Rodeo Club, based in the tiny community of Blaisdell (population: 20) that continues to hold nine annual events, will be honored for special achievement.

-- Jerry Weinberger, who has won the North Dakota Rodeo Association’s bull riding championship four times. He retired from the circuit in 1979. He joins the hall as a modern-era rodeo inductee.

-- William Hadden, who will be inducted for his contributions to pre-1940s rodeo.

-- Emerson Chase, who was instrumental in starting the All Indian Rodeo Association. He was a noted stock producer.

-- Skoal’s “Centennial,” a bareback bronc and three-time North Dakota Rodeo Association horse of the year is the livestock inductee.