Weather Forecast


Primary election results produce upsets, landslides

Press Photo by Nadya Faulx Dickinson voters fill out their ballots Tuesday at the National Guard Armory. City, park board and school board elections were among the races decided in the primary elections.

The primary elections had plenty of upsets, landslides and close calls. While city and school board elections were decided Tuesday, county and state races on the ballot were a possible preview to the general elections in November. Here is a roundup of the regional elections.

0 Talk about it

Oestreich gets 61 percent against current Stark County Sheriff Tuhy Dickinson Police Detective Terry Oestreich received more than half of the votes in the primary race for Stark County sheriff against incumbent Clarence Tuhy.

Oestreich received almost 61 percent of votes; Tuhy received 39 percent.

Both candidates will move forward to November’s general election, but Tuesday’s vote served as a gauge for one of the county’s most important races.

“I plan to work harder still for the election this fall,” Oestreich said.

He said having the public’s trust is “really humbling,” and his “goal is to grow that public trust.”

Tuhy is running for a fourth term as sheriff. He has served in the position for 12 years.

Killdeer fire chief unseats mayor Killdeer Fire Chief Chuck Muscha unseated current Mayor Dan Dolechek with 60 percent of the vote.

Dolechek has served as mayor for eight years, a good chunk of which involved working with Muscha, who has been on the City Commission for 14 years.

“I guess the people spoke, they voted,” Muscha said Tuesday night. “That’s all I asked for — let them decide.”

Muscha said he’s unsure whether he will stay on as fire chief.

LaRocque, Coker advance in Dunn Co. Sheriff primary Incumbent Clay Coker and challenger Kenny LaRocque will advance to the general election in the race to lead the Dunn County Sheriff’s Office.

LaRocque garnered 45.6 percent of the 912 votes and Coker got 42 percent.

Coker said the results were about what he expected they would be, and that he thinks LaRocque got his best showing Tuesday.

“I think he got most of his people out tonight and I think he’s gonna lose steam,” Coker said.

Coker said he’d like to have a debate against LaRocque as the general election approaches.

LaRocque didn’t return a call for comment Tuesday night.

Glenn Gietzen received 12 percent of the votes and won’t advance to the general election.

Mayors in New England, Mott hold on to seats New England Mayor Marty Opdahl defeated longtime city councilman Allen Schmidt in his first bid for re-election, according to city auditor Jason Jung. Opdahl received 131 votes to Schmidt’s 63 and will serve another four-year term.

Troy Mosbrucker also held on to his seat as mayor of Mott. Unofficially, he received 182 votes, according to Hettinger County Auditor Jeri Schmidt. Ted Hardmeyer, who ran as a write-in candidate, received 98 votes.

Two newcomers elected to Bowman City Commission Darren Limesand and Darrell West each won a seat on the Bowman City Commission, defeating incumbent Grace Rea and challenger Judson Seaman.

Both Limesand, a banker, and West, an EMT, will be newcomers to the commission.

Limesand received 250 votes and West had 173. Rea received 142 votes and Seaman 115.

“I’m excited to be able to get on the board and hopefully I will do a good job and continue to help the city move forward,” Limesand said.

Olson, Nasset take South Heart Public School Board seats The current board member for South Heart Public School will keep his position

Jesse Olson took almost 30 percent of the votes, reclaiming his spot on the board. Jessica Nasset will join him, claiming more than 25 percent.

The race was one of the most contested in the region — six candidates campaigned for two spots. Shannon Binstock was second with 38 votes, Troy Hoff and Leon Keator took 37 votes and Mary Hodell was last with 27.

Three seats on Dickinson school board filled Dickinson School Board members Jason Hanson and Tanya Rude were re-elected Tuesday; a third seat went to first-time member Sarah Ricks.

Hanson received 35 percent of votes; Rude received almost 32 percent.

Ricks was elected with almost 33 percent of the votes. She will replace Morton Krieg, whose term expires this year.

Two new members elected to Dickinson Park Board Scott Karsky and Tim Daniel were elected to the Dickinson Park Board alongside incumbent Scott Kovash Tuesday.

Karsky, with 34 percent of the votes, and Daniel, with 32 percent, will replace outgoing members Mike Lefor and Kelly Cooper.

Kovash received 33 percent of the votes.

Beach City Commission races tight The Beach City Commission race was one of the most tightly contested of the day.

With three seats and four candidates, the third and final seat came down to just four votes.

Henry Gerving (152 votes) and Dell Beach (146) earned spots on the commission while Timothy Marman (102) edged Paul Lautenschlager (98) for the third seat.

Kevin Candrian earned the most votes of three candidates vying for two spots on the Killdeer City Commission. However, Anita Mjolhus edged Matthew Hegstad by 11 votes for the second spot. Mjolhus had 121 votes and Hegstad received 110.

Koleen Hoff led three candidates vying for two seats on the Richardton City Commission with 84 votes. Joshua Reisenauer had 49 votes to beat Daniel Pladson by 11 votes for the second seat.

In other election news: - The city of Beach voted 146 to 44 to maintain an additional 1 percent sales tax.

- Scranton residents have voted in support of the city council taking over the city’s Park Board, which will dissolve. The measure, on the city’s primary election ballot, passed 54 votes to eight.