Weather Forecast


Winners named in South Heart City Council write-in vote

SOUTH HEART — South Heart City Council members Jayme Lefor, Quain Kudrna and Chris Kanski were re-elected in Tuesday’s somewhat unexpected write-in vote.

The race was wide open, with no candidates submitting paperwork to get on the ballot. That’s because papers for filing were not sent to the candidates. The candidates’ names did not appear on any ballots after auditor Renae Praus allegedly failed to send out filing papers in time.

An anonymous person apparently used the the mix-up as a chance to replace long-time council member Kudrna by sending flyers advertising Lefor, Kanski and local farmer Robbie Ridl for the three spots. A newspaper ad also promoted Lefor, Kanski and Ridl, with the message “Vote for the NEW South Heart Council.” The attempt failed.

Lefor received 30 votes and Kudrna received 19 votes.

Kanski received 26 votes to win his bid for a two-year term after previously being appointed to the council.