Weather Forecast


New Park Board members sworn in

Press Photo by Nadya Faulx New Dickinson Park Board commissioners Tim Daniel, left, and Scott Karsky are sworn into their posts Friday. They replaced outgoing commissioners Kelly Cooper and board President Mike Lefor.

The Dickinson Park Board has some new faces after outgoing commissioner Kelly Cooper and President Mike Lefor formally left their posts Friday.

State Farm Insurance agent Scott Karsky and Dickinson State University Athletic Director Tim Daniel were sworn in, as was returning commissioner Scott Kovash.

The three ran uncontested in the June 10 election, a race Lefor jokingly called a “rough and tumble campaign.”

Cooper, who served on the board for eight years, is moving to Fargo for his job with Bank of the West. Lefor is running on the Republican ticket for District 37 House of Representatives, and said it’s “time for new blood” on the board.

After 20 years on the board, eight of them as president, Lefor said he is leaving the board in good hands.

“We’ve got two people coming into this board that are very qualified, good, community-minded citizens,” he said, “and an experienced board to work with.”

Commissioners unanimously elected Carol Herauf as board president and Scott Kovash as vice president.

The board has two big projects ahead: the finalization of the West River Community Center expansion project, which director James Kramer said he expects to wrap up in August after several weeks of delays, and a the erection of a new Verizon cell tower.

Two sites -- a lot behind the community center, and an area by 10th Street East and Gum Avenue -- are still in consideration for the tower.

The board approved a public hearing for the Gum Avenue site and will invite comment from neighboring residents at its next meeting on July 14.