Weather Forecast


The Press claims top awards at ND Newspaper Association convention

The Dickinson Press was honored as the top daily newspaper in its category on Friday at the North Dakota Newspaper Association 2013 awards held in Rapid City, S.D., as part of a combined convention with the South Dakota Newspaper Association.

The Press won both the General Excellence and Sweepstakes awards for North Dakota dailies with a circulation under 12,000.

General Excellence is an award given to the newspaper that excels in all areas from editorial and opinion content to overall design and advertising. The Sweepstakes award is given to the newspaper that claims the most awards in its category.

The Press staff received a total of 51 awards with 22 first-place honors.

The editorial staff received 17 first-place awards, including overall design excellence, and the advertising staff earned five.

The Press swept first-place honors in sports awards, winning in all seven categories.

Multiple first-place award winners include Managing Editor Dustin Monke (six awards), reporter Bryan Horwath (three), Lifestyles Editor Linda Sailer (two), advertising sales representative David Hanson (two) and former Managing Editor Jennifer McBride (two).

See The Dickinson Press on Wednesday for a complete list of award winners.