Weather Forecast


4 finalists named for 2 new ND judgeships

WILLISTON -- Four finalists have been named for two new judgeships being created in North Dakota's Northwest Judicial District.

The state Supreme Court says all four are lawyers: Cherie Clark of Fargo, Paul Jacobson of Bismarck; Robert Martin of Minot; and Robin Schmidt of Watford City.

Gov. Jack Dalrymple will appoint the new judges. One will be based in Williston and the other in Watford City.

The Legislature approved the new judgeships earlier this year to help with an increasing caseload in the booming western North Dakota oil patch. A new judgeship also was created in the East Central Judicial District.