Weather Forecast


North Dakota counties eligible for disaster aid

BISMARCK — The U.S. Department of Agriculture declared an agricultural disaster in 31 North Dakota counties where farmers had major crop losses during the growing season, the governor’s office announced Wednesday.

0 Talk about it

The designation makes farmers and ranchers eligible for supplemental disaster assistance and other federal programs.

“Farmers and ranchers in much of North Dakota faced a host of major production challenges this year,” Gov. Jack Dalrymple said. “I am pleased that Agriculture Secretary Vilsack has granted assistance to farmers and ranchers in 46 counties.”

Heavy snowpack, flooding, frosts and freeze damage and other problems prevented North Dakota farmers from planting more than 4 million acres this year, the state’s second-largest amount of unplanted crop acreage in recent history.

The USDA declared an agricultural disaster in the counties of Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Burleigh, Cavalier, Divide, Emmons, Grand Forks, Grant, Kidder, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Oliver, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Renville, Rolette, Sioux, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward and Wells.

The declaration also makes federal assistance available to farmers and ranchers in 15 contiguous counties: Adams, Barnes, Cass, Dickey, Dunn, Eddy, Foster, Griggs, Hettinger, LaMoure, McKenzie, Sheridan, Stark, Steele and Williams.

Forum News Service

The Forum Communications News Service is the premier news wire service covering the Upper Midwest, including the Dakotas, Minnesota and Wisconsin. In addition to breaking and enterprise news, we offer a wide variety of sports, features, business, agriculture, outdoors and opinion content. For more information about the services we offer or to discuss content subscriptions, please contact us.