Weather Forecast


Dillman ties for bull riding win in Badlands Circuit Finals opener

MINOT -- Abe Dillman took one more next step toward the PRCA Badlands Circuit title in the bull riding on Thursday night in the first round of the four-round event.

The Grassy Butte cowboy tied for the win in the bull riding with an 80-point ride on Cherry Bomb. Dillman, with a sizeable lead in the circuit standings, tied with Andrew Coughlin of Timber Lake, S.D.

Dickinson's Clay Schaeffer was one point behind winner Chuck Schmidt of Keldron, S.D., in the saddle bronc riding. Schmidt had an 85 to win the round.

Grassy Butte's Layne Carson and Dickinson's Tim Franzen tied for second in the team roping at 5.4 seconds.

Badlands Circuit Finals

At Minot

First round

Bareback riding: 1, Jet Price, Buffalo, S.D., 86 on Flashcard Champion, Korkow Rodeo Co. 2 (tie), Ty Breuer, Mandan, 78, and Joe Gunderson, Agar, S.D., 78. 4 (tie), John Addison, Midland, S.D., 77, and Casey Breuer, Mandan, 77.

Barrel racing: 1, Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., 13.33 seconds. 2, Nikki Steffes, Vale, S.D. 13.58. 3, Terikay Leibrand, Williston, 13.59. 4, Melissa Bachand, Belle Fourche, S.D. 13.61.

Bull riding: 1 (tie), Abe Dillman, Grassy Butte, 80 on Cherry Bomb, Mosbrucker Rodeo, and Andrew Coughlin, Timber Lake, S.D., 80 on Bobby Socks, Sutton Rodeo. 3, Jeff Bertus, Avon, S.D., 78. 4, Tyson Donovan, Sturgis, S.D., 77.

Saddle bronc riding: 1, Chuck Schmidt, Keldron, S.D., 85 on Blew Apart, Korkow Rodeo Co. 2, Clay Schaeffer, Dickinson, 84. 3, Troy Crowser, Whitewood, S.D., 81. 4 Cole Elshere, Faith, S.D. 80.

Steer wrestling: 1, Forest Sainsbury, Camp Crook, S.D., 4.2 seconds. 2, JB Lord, Sturgis, S.D. 4.3; 3 (tie), Seth Murphy, South Heart, 4.6, and Jim Hansen, Watford City, 4.6.

Team roping: 1, Jay Mattson, Deadwood, S.D., and Matt Kasner, Cody, Neb., 5.1 seconds. 2 (tie), Layne Carson, Grassy Butte, and Tim Franzen, Dickinson, 5.4; Paul David Tierney, Oral, S.D. and Matt Zancanella, Aurora, S.D. 5.4. 4, Jake Nelson, Creighton, S.D., and Jeff Nelson, Philip, S.D., 5.9.

Tie-down roping: 1, Owen Fagerhaug, Plankinton, S.D., 8.2 seconds. 2 (tie), Dane Kissack, Spearfish, S.D., 8.3, and Corey Cronin, Gettysburg, S.D. 8.3. 4, Justin Scofield, Volga, S.D. 9.3. p