Weather Forecast


Riders hang to beat Mandan in 9 innings

MANDAN — The Dickinson Roughriders American Legion baseball team jumped out a 5-0 lead, but Mandan answered back.

On the Roughriders’ second scoring spree, the Chiefs couldn’t respond with enough hits.

Dickinson defeated Mandan 9-7 in a nine-inning game on Tuesday at Veteran’s Memorial Ballpark.

Lucas Jones supplied a two-run double in the eighth inning to break the 5-5 tie for the Roughriders (17-5). Dickinson scored two more runs in the eighth inning — on a RBI single from Luke Herauf to score Jones and Alex Huschka laid down a RBI sacrifice bunt to score Cole Anderson.

Brett Schweitzer picked up the win for Dickinson. The right-handed reliever pitched four innings, allowed four runs (two earned) on six hits and struck out five. Herauf started the game and went five innings. He allowed three runs (one earned) and struck out seven.

Garrett Murphy was charged with the loss after he went 1/3 of an inning and allowed four runs.

Dylan Skabo, Tanner Hopfauf and Herauf each supplied two hits for the Roughriders. Mark Erickson, Jones and Anderson all had a hit. Andrew Heckaman and Huschka both scored and drove in a run.

Parker Harm led Mandan going 3 for 5 and scored two runs. Logan McDowall added two hits and three RBI. Zach Scott posted two hits and scored two runs.

The Roughriders return to the Bismarck-Mandan area for a doubleheader against the Bismarck Governors at 3 p.m. today.

Dickinson 030 020 040 — 9 9 4

Mandan 000 023 011 — 7 12 6

Luke Herauf, Brett Schweitzer (6) and Andrew Heckaman. Jared Walters, Garrett Murphy (8), Zach Scott (8) and Trever Leingang.

W–Schweitzer. L–Murphy. HR–None.

Highlights: D, Lucas Jones 1 for 5, 2B, 2 RBI, run; Cole Anderson 1 for 4, 2 runs; Luke Herauf 2 for 5, RBI, run; Tanner Hopfauf 2 for 5, RBI, run; Dylan Skabo 2 for 3; Mark Erickson 1 for 5, 2B, RBI, run; Alex Huschka RBI, run; Andrew Heckaman RBI, run; Michael McChesney run. M, Parker Harm 3 for 5, 2 runs; Leingang 2 for 4, RBI; Logan McDowall 2 for 3, 3 RBI; Scott 2 for 5, 2 runs; Matt Ziemann 1 for 4, run; Murphy 1 for 4, run; Alex Weiand 1 for 4; Jared Walters RBI; Bryce Andresen run.