Weather Forecast


Bison legacy: A look at every NDSU championship team


Pecan Bowl

The score: NDSU 20, Grambling 7

The site: Abilene, Texas

The crowd: 8,500

The story: The Bison posted a convincing win over famed Grambling College to cap a perfect 11-0 season and take firm hold of the No. 1 national ranking in College Division football.

With one of the best defenses in the country, the Bison limited Grambling to 97 yards in total offense. Grambling's only score came on a 93-yard kickoff return.

NDSU's Ken Rota, who gained 96 yards on 22 carries, was named the game's outstanding back. Lowell Linderman, who caught a 68-yard touchdown pass, was named the outstanding lineman.


Pecan Bowl

The score: NDSU 23, Arkansas State 14

The site: Arlington, Texas

The crowd: 7,200

The story: Paul Hatchett ran for 106 yards and a touchdown as NDSU racked up 23 first-half points. The No. 1-ranked Bison looked to make it a blowout when Joe Roller, Hatchett, Ken Blazei and Bruce Grasamke combined for three touchdowns and a field goal to build a 23-0 halftime lead.

Arkansas State scored two fourth-quarter touchdowns. Hatchett was voted the outstanding offensive player of the game.


Camellia Bowl

The score: NDSU 30, Montana 3

The site: Sacramento, Calif.

The crowd: 14,912

The story: Resorting to a seldom-used passing game, the top-ranked Bison rolled past No. 2-ranked Montana. Quarterback Bruce Grasamke completed 16 of 25 passes for 206 yards as the Bison finished with 421 total yards on offense.

Holding a 6-3 lead, NDSU scored 24 straight points with a Paul Hatchett touchdown reception, a Jim Twardy field goal, a Dennis Preboski touchdown run and a Tim Mjos' touchdown reception.

The Bison finished the season with a perfect 10-0 record.


Palm Bowl

The score: NDSU 41, Central State 21

The site: McAllen, Texas

The crowd: 5,275

The story: NDSU shut down the most explosive offense in the country and erupted for 41 points in its win over the team from Ohio to claim a Division II national title.

Playing before a CBS regional television audience on a hot and windy day, the Bison jumped out to a 21-0 first-quarter lead. Freshman quarterback Jeff Bentrim ran for 120 yards and a touchdown, freshman Chad Stark ran for 68 yards and a touchdown while Stacy Robinson caught three passes - one for a touchdown.


Palm Bowl

The score: NDSU 35, North Alabama 7

The site: McAllen, Texas

The crowd: 6,000

The story: NDSU's defense played a flawless game and the offense shined against one of the top defenses in the nation to claim another Division II national championship.

The Bison scored on two of their first three possessions and turned three North Alabama mistakes into two touchdowns to build a 35-0 lead in the third quarter.

Chad Stark ran for 113 yards while Jeff Bentrim threw for 79 yards - 58 going to receiver Len Kretchman.


Division II championship

The score: NDSU 27, South Dakota 7

The site: Florence, Alabama

The crowd: 11,506

The story: "I wish to hell they would get out of Division II," said South Dakota head coach Dave Triplett after this title game. "They can go wherever they want."

In a battle of North Central Conference rivals, quarterback Jeff Bentrim - who started in four national title games during his career - ran for 111 yards and two touchdowns. Tyrone Braxton, who went on to play in the NFL for the Denver Broncos, had an 84-yard punt return for a touchdown.


Division II championship

The score: NDSU 35, Portland State 21

The site: Florence, Alabama

The crowd: 6,763

The story: The Bison won their fourth national title in six years, capping a 14-0 season, the most victories in school history.

After a 14-14 halftime tie, NDSU took the second-half kickoff and marched 63 yards for the go-ahead score. "We decided to put the game in the hands of the players who brought us to the party, and that's our offensive line," said Bison head coach Rocky Hager.

Running back Tony Satter rushed for 151 yards including a 70-yard touchdown run. His 10-yard touchdown run gave the Bison a 28-14 lead in the third quarter.


Division II championship

The score: NDSU 51, Indiana (Pa.) 11

The site: Florence, Alabama

The crowd: 10,080

The story: Unbeaten NDSU exploded for touchdowns on all five of its possessions in the third quarter to turn this title game into a rout.

Quarterback Chris Simdorn, the Harlon Hill winner as the nation's top player in Division II, ran for 145 yards and two touchdowns and passed for 179 yards and three touchdowns. His 324 yards in total offense was a school playoff record.

Tony Satter's 174 yards rushing lifted his 1990 playoff yardage to 619, breaking the NCAA record of 580 set by Johnny Bailey of Texas A&I in 1988. Meanwhile, the Bison defense sacked Indiana quarterbacks 10 times for 69 yards in losses.


FCS championship

The score: NDSU 17, Sam Houston State 6

The site: Frisco, Texas

The crowd: 20,586

The story: Touchdowns after a fake punt and an interception sparked the Bison to their first Football Championship Subdivision national title. This was NDSU's first title game since moving from Division II to the higher division in 2004.

Trailing 6-3 in the third quarter, punter Matt Voigtlander ran 27 yards for a first down on a fourth-and-4 play. It set up D.J. McNorton's 39-yard screen pass reception for a touchdown.

Travis Beck's 63-yard interception return set up quarterback Brock Jensen's 1-yard touchdown run that gave the Bison a 17-6 lead late in the game. The Bison finished with a 14-1 record.