Weather Forecast


Dickinson’s Wallace, Jung place eighth in doubles

BISMARCK — The duo of Kayla Wallace and Ireland Jung were the members of the Dickinson High girls tennis team to advance in the individual tournament portion of the West Region Tournament.

Wallace and Jung placed eighth in the doubles during the second day on Saturday. The duo lost back-to-back matches to finish the tournament.

The Midgets have already qualified as a team for the North Dakota state tennis tournament which begins May 22 in Bismarck.

Individual tournament


Championship Bracket Semifinals

Caitlin Bakke, SM, def. Keyenna Enget, Wil, 6-0, 6-1.

Ban Dodin, Min, def. Alyssa Wolf, Cen, 6-4, 6-2.


Bakke, SM, def. Dodin, Min, 6-3, 6-4.

Third Place

Wolf, Cen, def. Enget, Wil, 6-0, 6-4.

Consolation Bracket


Erin Mullowney, Jam, def. Regan Bradley, SM, 6-0, 6-0. Jamie Stoppler, Cen, def. Jenna Coggins, Min, 5-7, 6-2, 7-5. Rachel Schumaier, Bis, def. Lindsey Bakken, Dic, 7-5, 6-2. Catie Cordova, Man, def. Karen Steigelmeier, SM, 6-3, 6-1.


E. Mullowney, Jam, def. Stoppler, Cen, 1-6, 6-4, 6-3. Cordova, Man, def. Schumaier, Bis, 6-2, 6-2.

Fifth Place

E. Mullowney, Jam, def. Cordova, Man, 16-, 6-4, 6-1.

Seventh Place

Stoppler, Cen, def. Schumaier, Bis, 6-3, 6-3.


Championship Bracket


Alicia Beck-Mary Roller, SM, def. Jenna Andre-Lauryn Andre, Bis, 6-1, 6-4. Courtney Brackin-Anne Dickson, Cen, def. Keely Kleven-Kayla Barstad, Wil, 6-3, 6-0.


Beck-Roller, SM, def. Brackin-Dickson, Cen, 6-3, 6-2.

Third Place

J. Andre-L. Andre, Bis, def. Kleven-Barstad, Wil, 3-6, 6-1, 6-2.

Consolation Bracket


Paige Fettig-Morgan Grinsteiner, Cen, def. Emily Bichler-Ashley Kilzer, SM, 6-0, 6-1.

Jenna Reed-Bailey Graves, Jam, def. Kayla Wallace-Ireland Jung, Dic, 4-6, 6-1, 6-3.

Fifth Place

Fettig-Grinsteiner, Cen, def. Reed-Graves, Jam, 7-5, 7-6 (4).

Seventh Place

Bichler-Kilzer, SM, def. Wallace-Jung, Dic, 6-4, 6-1.


Senior athlete of the year nominees: Caitlin Bakke, St. Mary’s; Courtney Brackin, Century; Ban Dodin, Minot.

Coach of the year: Sandy Wald-Clooten, St. Mary’s.