Weather Forecast


Badlands Bowl roster finalized

Press Photo by Royal McGregor Dickinson High senior Levi Jordheim, right, tackles a Williston receiver during a West Region game on Oct. 25 at the Biesiot Activities Center.

The 2014 Badlands Bowl roster was finalized and 34 players from around the state are going to represent Team North Dakota.

Out of the 34 players on the roster three were from Dickinson High School.

The three Dickinson High players are Dylan Skabo, Mitch Mehrer and Levi Jordheim.

Skabo and Mehrer have signed to play football in the fall of 2014 at Dickinson State, while Jordheim is headed for a football future at North Dakota State.

Skabo is a 5-foot-10, 155-pound wide receiver, Mehrer (6-1, 205 offensive line) and Jordheim (6-2, 185 wide receiver).

The 2014 Badlands Bowl is June 21 at 6 p.m. MST at the Biesiot Activities Center.

The two-time defending Class 1A football state champions Hazen have two players named to the Badlands Bowl roster Austin Cieslak, a 6-3, 270-pound lineman, is signed to play football at the University of North Dakota and Hunter Fears, a 6-0, 212, fullback-linebacker.

The DSU and NDSU roots run deep in this year’s Badlands Bowl roster.

The Blue Hawks also have Thomas Sease (6-2, 215 tight end-fullback) and Jay Liggins of Bismarck High representing the team in the Badlands Bowl.

NDSU, the three-time defending FCS National Champions, has a total of six recruits going into the Badlands Bowl. The players including Jordhiem are Bismarck’s Stanley Jones (6-4, 220 tight end-defensive lineman), Levi Hoiby (6-4, 240 running back-linebacker) of Stanley-Powers Lake, Luke Bacon (6-5, 280 lineman) of Towner-Granville-Upham, Kindred’s Eric Bachmeier (6-2, 185 wide receiver-defensive back) and Tanner Volson (6-5, 285 lineman) of Drake-Anamoose).

Team North Dakota’s head coach is Barry Holmen of Minot. The assistants are Minot’s Chauncy Hendershot, Hazen’s Rick Philion, Funnon Barker of Shiloh Christian and Cody Kittelson of Kindred.

Badlands Bowl roster: Bismarck Century: Jacob Barth, 5-11, 215, RB; Aaron Doan, 5-11, 175, WR; Grant Gall, 6-0, 290, OL. Bismarck High: Stanley Jones, 6-4, 220, TE; Thomas Sease, 6-2 215, TE-FB; Ricardo Galindo, 5-7, 160, RB; Zac Scalzo, 6-1, 290, OL; Jay Liggins. Dickinson High: Dylan Skabo, 5-10, 155, WR; Mitch Mehrer, 6-1, 205, OL; Levi Jordheim, 6-2, 185, WR. Drake-Anamoose: Tanner Volson, 6-5, 285, OL. Fargo Davies: Chris Ennen, 6-3, 220, OL; Jordan Hjelseth, 5-10, 165, RB. Fargo South: Tyler Trefethren, 6-2, 270, NT-OT; Drew Fahrman, 6-4, 255, OL-DL; Joe Mehrer, 6-2, 295, C-DL. Grand Forks Red River: Chad Bartosh, 6-3, 185, QB-LB; Jake Robson, 6-5, 240, TE-LB. Hazen: Austin Cieslak, 6-3, 270, OL-DL; Hunter Fears, 6-0, 212, FB-LB. Kindred: Eric Bachmeier, 6-2, 185, WR-DB. LaMoure: Brady Thielges, 5-10, 185, RB-DB. Milnor: Wyatt Mund, 6-4, 195, TE-DL. Minot: Ben Love, 6-1, 185; Kolton Larson, 6-2, 205, FB-LB; Jacob Holmen, 6-2, 200, TE-LB; Alex Yanosko, 6-2, 212, QB-FS. Minot Ryan: Mason Kramer, 6-0, 285, OL; Broderick Bosch, 5-11, 165, WR. Stanley-Powers Lake: Levi Hoiby, 6-4, 240, RB-LB. TGU: Luke Bacon, 6-5, 280, OL-DL. Westhope: Hunter Braaten, 5-9, 160, QB-DB.

Head coach: Barry Holmen, Minot

Assistant coaches: Chauncy Hendershot, Minot; Rick Philion, Hazen; Funnon Barker, Shiloh Christian; Cody Kittelson, Kindred.