Weather Forecast


NDAPSSA names 5 Miss Basketball finalists

FARGO – The finalists for the North Dakota Associated Press Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association’s North Dakota Miss Basketball Award have been determined.

Five finalists – Paige Peterson (Jamestown), Keisha Engelhardt (Bismarck), Cassidy Thorson (West Fargo), Faith Dooley (Central Cass) and Shannon Galegher (Thompson) were selected Wednesday.

The winner will be presented with the award following the conclusion of the North Dakota Class B state championship game on Saturday at the Fargodome.

Peterson, a 6-foot-1 center, led Jamestown with 18.7 points per game and 13.5 rebounds per game. She also was named Class A senior athlete of the year.

Engelhardt, a 5-9 guard, averaged 17.9 ppg and 10.8 rpg for the Demons.

Thorson, a 5-11 guard, paced the Packers with 14.5 ppg and 6.5 rpg winning the East Region’s senior athlete of the year award.

Dooley, a 6-3 center, has helped the Squirrels to a berth into the Class B state tournament and averages 21 ppg, 12.3 rpg, and 6.1 blocks per game.

Galegher, a 5-10 forward averages 17 ppg and 10 rpg for the Tommies, who qualified for the Class B state tournament.

Tom Mix

Tom Mix is the North Dakota high school sports reporter. He's worked at The Forum for five years. He was the 2013 North Dakota sportswriter of the year, an award that is sponsored by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. Have a comment to share about a story? Letters to the editor should include author’s name, address and phone number. Generally, letters should be no longer than 250 words. All letters are subject to editing. Send to  

(701) 241-5562