Weather Forecast


2 ND rodeo cowboys being honored nationally

BISMARCK -- Two North Dakota cowboys are being inducted into the national Rodeo Hall of Fame.

Pete Fredericks of Twin Buttes and Brad Gjermundson of Marshall are being honored during ceremonies Friday and today in Oklahoma City.

Fredericks has been extremely influential to the sport of rodeo. He helped organize the Dickinson State rodeo team in 1958. He is also one of the original founders of the Indian National Finals Rodeo.

He was a four-time National Finals Rodeo qualifier, finishing fourth in the bareback riding world standings in 1961.

Gjermundson is a four-time world champion in the saddle bronc riding and nine-time NFR qualifier. He won multiple titles in the North Dakota High School Rodeo Association and the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association while he was at Dickinson State.

He is already a member of the North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame and the Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame.

Both men also are members of the North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame.

National Rodeo Hall of Fame inductees are chosen by members of the Rodeo Historical Society of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum.