Industrial commission awards $921,478 in Outdoor Heritage Funds

Bismarck, ND – The Industrial Commission of North Dakota has approved $921,478 in Outdoor Heritage Fund grants for seven conservation and recreation projects benefiting communities across the state. The funding, generated from oil and gas production tax revenue, supports projects such as access to public and private lands for sportsmen, farming and ranching stewardship practices, fish and wildlife habitat preservation, and outdoor recreation areas.

The projects approved include:

  • $253,770 – Hettinger County Water Resource District: Removal of the existing Karey Dam and replacement of an engineered rock ramp to improve river connectivity and re-establish the fish passage.
  • $115,750 – Benson County Water Resource Board: Removal of the existing dam and replacement of an engineered rock ramp to provide fish passage, improve fish and aquatic biota habitat, and re-establish river connectivity.
  • $14,345 – Watford City Park District: Installation of an accessible pathway, parking pad, border, and wood fiber for the playground at the McKenzie Bay Recreation Area.
  • $100,000 – North Dakota Natural Resources Trust: Assisting landowners with the restoration of 2,000 acres of grassland to benefit wildlife species.
  • $310,316 – City of Cavalier: Replace the Cavlandic Trail which is a 6.5 mile paved non-motorized trail used for biking and walking, add six new interpretive signs along the trail at unique outdoor habitat and geological points, and install three bike repair stations.
  • $78,730 – Audubon Dakota: Help conserve the unique alkaline grassland ecosystem through grazing infrastructure on 6,500 acres across Grand Forks, Eddy, Foster, and Nelson counties.
  • $48,567 – Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa: Rejuvenate the Belcourt Lake Park area by installation of a rest room facility, picnic arbor, three boat docks, and fencing around the playground perimeter.

The Industrial Commission of North Dakota, which oversees the Outdoor Heritage Fund, consists of Gov. Doug Burgum as chairman, Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem and Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring.

Kayla Henson is a former Dickinson Press reporter.
What To Read Next