Clarys unseats Arthaud in Stark County Commission race

Paul Clarys defeated incumbent Carla Arthaud 55.7% to 44%, with 8,396 votes counted at the time of publication.

A Paul Clarys sign is pictured.
Jason O'Day / The Dickinson Press
We are part of The Trust Project.

DICKINSON — In the Stark County Commission race for the District 4 commission seat, Paul Clarys defeated incumbent Carla Arthaud. The North Dakota Secretary of State's Office called the race at around 9:15 p.m. Clarys led Arthaud 55.7% to 44% with 8,396 votes counted.

Paul Clarys
Paul Clarys defeated incumbent Carla Arthaud in the District 4 Stark County Commission race.
Jason O'Day / The Dickinson Press

In a phone conversation with The Dickinson Press Tuesday night, Clarys was unaware the race had been officially called in his favor.

"God bless America," he exclaimed.

Clarys said this was his first time running for public office.

"The outpouring of support is just really humbling," Clarys said. "When you dip your toe into this thing, you just have no idea how people are going to receive you... It's been tremendous. I appreciate every one of them (my supporters). It's been awesome."


When asked about his priorities, he emphasized his goals of serving the citizens of Stark County.

"I mean I want to keep taxes as low as possible but still maintain the services for our citizens here," Clarys said. "I mean, what's your agenda Paul? That's kind of the point for me, because I don't have an agenda. I just want to do the work, I'm excited."

Carla Arthaud
Carla Arthaud was the first woman to serve as chairman of the Stark County Commission.
James B. Miller / The Dickinson Press

Arthaud could not be reached for comment.

re-elect Carla Arthaud
A re-elect Carla Arthaud sign is pictured.
Jason O'Day / The Dickinson Press

Cory White won the District 2 commission seat in an uncontested race. Incumbent Ken Zander is retiring after 20 years on the commission.

According to North Dakota Century Code chapter 11-11, every county commission must have no fewer than three commissioners and no more than five. Stark County has five.

Century Code also lists the general duties of these commissioners, which included superintending the fiscal affairs of the county and supervising the conduct of its employees.

According to Auditor and Treasurer Karen Richard, Stark County Commissioners are paid an approximate annual salary of $27,000.

Jason O’Day is a University of Iowa graduate, with Bachelor’s Degrees in Journalism and Political Science. Before moving to Dickinson in September of 2021, he was a general news reporter at the Creston News Advertiser in southwest Iowa. He was born and raised in Davenport, Iowa. With a passion for the outdoors and his Catholic faith, he’s loving life on the Western Edge. His reporting focuses on Stark County government and surrounding rural communities.
What To Read Next
The North Dakota Highway Patrol is investigating the crash.
The Dickinson Police Department responded to numerous calls for service over the past week, and these are just a few highlights of the incidents that occurred.
Dissenting city commissioner objects to rebranding, citing unknown cost, lack of public input and historical connection with old logo.
“Let’s put this in the rearview mirror,” Sen. Michael Diedrich, a Rapid City Republican said.