During its Budget Input and Development Committee meeting on March 7, Kent Anderson advised the committee that there was no need for district residents to vote on increasing the Dickinson Public School's debt limit from 5 percent to 10 percent, as he discovered that the debt limit increase had been approved in 1947.

At its board meeting Monday, the Dickinson Public School Board voted to revise its May bond referendum ballot for a new Dickinson High School to eliminate the first question about raising the debt limit. The referendum will now only have the one question to approve the $115 million bond.

Also during its budget meeting, the committee recommended that the board approve the request for an additional 14 teachers for the upcoming school year-- four K-5 regular ed teachers, one high school health careers teacher, two K-3 interventionists, three special education teachers, a special ed/Read 180 teacher; and four teachers on special assignment to serve as technology integration specialists.

DHS Principal Kevin Hoherz updated the board on the school project.

"We had a schematic design workshop on Feb. 25-27 ... Perkins and Will (the architect for the project) started talking about the design of the classroom, what the classes are going to look like, putting desks in there, putting tables, putting chairs," he said. "It's getting a little bit more exciting ... We're getting to see what the school may possibly look like, if the referendum were to go through."

The next community forum will be this Wednesday at 7 p.m. in the DHS auditorium.

Dickinson Public School Board President Brent Seaks recognized these students for achievements: DMS student Chris Fleig, who took first place in the Stark County Spelling Bee; DMS student Catelyn Devero, who took second place in the spelling bee; Dickinson High School seniors Carrie Bleyenberg and Ethan Kleinsasser, who are finalists for the National Merit Scholarship; Dickinson Middle Schoolers who took first place in the team round of the Math Counts competition; the DMS Science Olympiad team, which took second place at regionals and will continue on to state competition.

The board approved the resignation of the following teachers: Les Dykema, Linda Greenwood, Patricia Levorson and Todd Selle of DMS; Andrea Hort-Dvorak and Tylyn Lebeau of Heart River Elementary; Kathleen Jepson and Kayla Kimber of Berg Elementary; Yvette Schubert of Lincoln Elementary; Emily Montgomery, early childhood instructor; and Dorothy Martinson, director of student services.

Tuesday, March 26, the school board will hold a special meeting to discuss the district's transportation plan, which will address the cost of busing and the potential of busing students not in the district, such as those from Trinity.