BISMARCK — Democrats in North Dakota will be able to vote in the primary elections before the Iowa Caucus.

Starting Monday, Jan. 20, Democrats in North Dakota will be able to request a mail-in ballot to vote early in the presidential primary elections. Eligible voters can request a ballot until Feb. 25. The official Firehouse Caucus is set for March 10.

The Democratic ballot will include poll leaders Joe Biden, Elizabeth Warren and Bernie Sanders, plus Michael Bennet, Michael Bloomberg, Pete Buttigieg, John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Tom Steyer and Andrew Yang.

Democratic-NPL chair Kylie Oversen said the ability to vote early makes the primary election more accessible and encourages new voters to participate.

Party spokesman Alex Rohr said more than 1,650 North Dakotans voted in the 2016 Democratic caucus in which Sanders edged out eventual party nominee Hillary Clinton. Rohr said the party could not provide a record of the caucus results due to considerations for voter privacy. The state's caucus took place a day after it was announced that Clinton had secured enough delegates to win the nomination, which likely drove voter participation down.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

There will be no early voting for North Dakota Republicans, however President Donald Trump is the only candidate who will appear on the ballot, and no write-in option will be available, party spokeswoman Alexandra Wilkes said.

Those interested in requesting a Democratic ballot can do so online via, by email at or over the phone at 1-877-455-9367.