Incumbents sweep ND's statewide races

BISMARCK -- North Dakotans were projected to elect six incumbents to statewide seats in Tuesday's election, including longtime attorney general Wayne Stenehjem.


BISMARCK - North Dakotans were projected to elect six incumbents to statewide seats in Tuesday’s election, including longtime attorney general Wayne Stenehjem.

Stenehjem, a Republican, beat Democratic candidate David Thompson for his sixth term.

Stenehjem, who has served as the state’s attorney general since 2001, collected 67 percent of the vote, while Thompson received 33 percent of the vote with 392 of 424 precincts reporting, according to incomplete and unofficial results Tuesday.

The annual salary for the attorney general is $157,009; they are elected every four years.

In the tax commissioner’s race, Republican Ryan Rauschenberger was projected to beat out Democrat Kylie Oversen.


Rauschenberger, who has been tax commissioner since 2014, collected 58 percent of the vote. Oversen received 42 percent of the vote.

The tax commissioner’s office oversees six divisions dealing with tax law, revenue collection and fiscal management. The tax commissioner, who has an annual salary of $114,791, has a four-year term in North Dakota.

Incumbent Doug Goehring was projected to defeat Democratic candidate Jim Dotzenrod to be agriculture commissioner. Goehring, a Republican who has served in the role since 2009, collected 67 percent of the vote, while 33 percent of voters gave their support to Dotzenrod.

The ag commissioner receives $108,656 annually. The commissioner is elected every four years.

Lisa Fair McEvers was projected to return to the North Dakota Supreme Court after she defeated her challenger, Robert Bolinske Sr.

Fair McEvers received 66 percent of the vote, while Bolinske received 33 percent.

North Dakota Supreme Court justices receive an annual salary of $157,009 and serve 10 year terms.

There were two open seats to fill on North Dakota’s Public Service Commission this year. The commission regulates electric and gas utilities, telecommunication companies and railroads, and is responsible for siting various energy-related facilities.


Incumbent Randy Christmann was projected to win his second six year-term on the commission, beating out challenger Jeannie Brandt by a margin of 61 percent to 39 percent.

In a second race for public service commissioner, voters decided who would serve out the remaining two years of former commissioner Brian Kalk’s term. Kalk resigned in 2017.

Brian Kroshus, who was appointed to the commission by Burgum in 2017, was projected to continue his service on the board, beating out challenger Casey Buchmann with 61 percent of the vote.

A public service commissioner receives $108,656 annually.

All results are incomplete and unofficial.

What To Read Next
The North Dakota Highway Patrol is investigating the crash.
City accountant reports increases in oil impact, sales tax, hospitality tax and occupancy tax revenue during the Jan. 24 meeting, commission approves two policy amendments.
Testimony to the top House committee from a convicted attendee of the Jan. 6 rally focused on the "inhumane" treatment of Jan. 6 defendants. The committee rejected a resolution on the matter 12-0.
The Stark County Sheriff’s Department responded to numerous calls for service over the past week, and these are just a few highlights of the incidents that occurred.