Midgets to send 10 wrestlers to state

WILLISTON -- Dickinson High had two wrestlers finish in third place and placed eight others Saturday at the West Region Tournament. Bismarck High won the team title with 286 points. Dickinson finished last with 76 points. Justin Brown and Colton ...

WILLISTON -- Dickinson High had two wrestlers finish in third place and placed eight others Saturday at the West Region Tournament.

Bismarck High won the team title with 286 points. Dickinson finished last with 76 points.

Justin Brown and Colton Schaeffer switched weight classes and fared well, each finishing third. Schaeffer, who normally wrestles at 119 pounds, defeated Williston's Eddie Maisey by a 15-9 decision at 112.

Brown, meanwhile, earned an 11-5 decision over Minot's Charlie Lee in the 119 third-place match.

"They just wrestled a solid tournament all day," Dickinson coach Cody Wolf said of Schaeffer and Brown.


Alex Brown (103), Corbin Smith (125) and Colton Couch (285) each took fifth-place honors for the Midgets, who will send at least 10 wrestlers to the Class A state wrestling tournament next weekend.

Wolf was impressed with Couch's performance.

"He's really stepped in," Wolf said. "He's pretty raw I guess. He doesn't have a whole lot of experience under his belt, but he wrestles the whole six minutes."

Ben Brown (sixth at 130), Ethan Ladbury (seventh at 189), Jeremiah Bernsten (eighth at 103) and Tyler Lindsey (eighth at 140) closed out the placers for the Midgets, who had some of their top wrestlers miss qualifying for state.

"The best thing about most of them is the rest of them got at least one more year to come back," Wolf said.

West Region Tournament

At Williston

Team scores: 1, Bismarck 286; 2, Williston 182; 3, Mandan 167.5; 4, Bismarck Century 135.5; 5, Turtle Mountain Community High School 125.5; 6, Jamestown 123; 7, Bismarck St. Mary's 112.5; 8, Minot 88; 9, Dickinson 76.


Individual results:

103: Championship: Brock Krumm, SM, dec. Kirby Kain, Williston, 11-6; Third: Cody Hilzendeger, BC, maj. dec. Jon Binstock, BHS, 11-0; Fifth: Alex Brown, DHS, pinned Thomas Peterson, Mandan, 2:38; Seventh: Brandon Abejon, Minot, maj. dec. Jeremiah Bersten, DHS, 12-4.

112: Championship: Joe Schumacher, BHS, dec. Kameron Hamley, TMCHS 7-5; Third: Colton Schaeffer, DHS, dec. Eddie Maisey, WHS, 15-9; Fifth: Blake Bossingham, JHS, won by default over Keenan Ternes, Mandan; Seventh: Andrew Turck, SM, pinned Jared Shoults, BC, 1:44.

119: Championship: Drew Spaulding, BHS, dec. Shane Scott, TMCHS, 5-2; Third: Justin Brown, DHS, dec. Charlie Lee, Minot, 11-5; Fifth: Nick Schoedel, WHS, maj. dec. Brent Mittleider, JHS, 24-10; Seventh: Brad Spencer, Minot, dec. Jaren Haugen, DHS, 7-5.

125: Championship: Daron Hohbein, Mandan, maj. dec. David Stroh, BHS, 10-2; Third: Mark Pierson, Minot, dec. Chris Trefon, BC, 6-4; Fifth: Corbin Smith, DHS, maj. dec. Neil Kienzle, SM, 9-0; Seventh: Edwin Houle, TMCHS, pinned Nathan Homme, WHS, 2:51.

130: Championship: Trevor Johnson, BHS, dec. Tom Burgard, BC, 10-6; Third: Morgan Axelson, Williston, pinned Jonny Schmitz, JHS, 2:23; Fifth: Mike Grunsch, Mandan, won by default over Ben Brown, DHS; Seventh: Eric Rochholz, Minot, dec. Leonard Eller, TMCHS, 5-0.

135: Championship: Lucas Krueger, JHS, pinned Shaun Hall, TMCHS, 3:51; Third: Jacob Hoffart, Minot, pinned Wil Streibel, Mandan, 4:24; Fifth: Brandon Piatz, BHS, won by default over Calvin Sandberg, WHS; Seventh: Brandon Ohlhauser, BC, won by default over Jon Lepp, BC.

140: Championship: Zach Dixon, WHS, dec. Kade Johnson, BHS, 6-4; Third: Tate Schwagler, Mandan, won by default over Kale Peterson, Mandan; Fifth: Cody Lawson, Minot, 7-5; Seventh: Marcus Bausman, Minot, dec. Tyler Lindsey, DHS, 8-5.


145: Championship: Derek Lee, BC, dec. Joe Latham, BHS, 3-1; Third: Drew Schneider, Mandan, dec. Dustyn Haman, Minot, 7-2; Fifth: Taylor Stenson, WHS, won by default over Joe Vetter, SM; Seventh: Josh Schlag, Mandan, dec. Isaiah Davis, TMCHS, 3-1.

152: Championship: Tyler Johnson, BHS, maj. dec. Collin Engelhardt, SM, 12-3; Third: Chris Hauge, Mandan, pinned Jacob Sargent, WHS, 2:44; Fifth: Justin Erickson, Minot, won by default over Colton Shoults, BC; Seventh: Jared Berg, BHS, dec. Josh Dockter, JHS, 8-7.

160: Championship: David Vetter, SM, dec. Jon Hausauer, BHS, 5-3; Third: Nevada Moe, WHS, won by default over James Gourneau, TMCHS; Fifth: Ross Edison, BC, dec. Logan Erz, Minot, 14-11; Seventh: Michael Ramsey, WHS, won by default over Michael Schwieters, SM.

171: Championship: Jesse Finneman, BHS, dec. Luke Michaelson, WHS, 8-5; Third: Cameron Keller, Mandan, won by default over Tyrel Brendel, BHS; Fifth: Donavan Schulz, BC, dec. Edward Wilke, TMCHS, 13-7; Seventh: Tate Sorenson, WHS, maj. dec. Nick Erickson, JHS, 8-0.

189: Championship: Sean Gerhardt, SM, dec. Tyrel Tweeten, BHS, 5-3; Third: Payton DeCoteau, TMCHS, pinned Robert Regan, JHS, 2:42; Fifth: Slade Ternes, Mandan, pinned Bryan Fretheim, WHS, 1:27; Seventh: Ethan Ladbury, DHS, pinned Spencer Smith, BC, 2:20.

215: Championship: Brad Engebretson, BC, dec. Josh Schuh, BHS, 2-1; Third: Nick Nelson, BHS, pinned Shane Gallagher, JHS, 1:52; Fifth: Bennett Johnson, Mandan, pinned Cody Hochhalter, Mandan, :59; Seventh: Lex Blue, TMCHS, won by default over Keldon Ganje, Minot.

285: Championship: Brock Spenningsby, JHS, dec. Alex Granfor, BHS, 5-3; Third: Matt Jensen, WHS, pinned Kyle Jefferson, Mandan, 1:55; Fifth: Colton Couch, DHS, won by default over Konah Azure, TMCHS; Seventh: Wyatt Zeitz, Minot, pinned Sean Lengenfelder, SM, 2:24.

What To Read Next
Get Local