Winston Churchill once said, “Golf is a game whose aim is to hit a very small ball into an even smaller hole, with weapons singularly ill-designed for the purpose."

On Saturday, April 17, young golfers across the west region division of class A did just that when they returned to the greens after the heartache of a cancelled spring sports season last year.

Collectively players hit the ground running, teeing off at the Bismarck’s Century-Legacy Invite at Tom O' Leary Golf Course.

Both the Dickinson varsity and JV boys teams participated and each left the 18 with a better feel for area competition. Though individually the players were not able to climb to the top of the table, their combined scores earned them fifth place.

The invitational began at 9 a.m. and included teams representing 11 schools; Dickinson, Bismarck Century, Bismarck Legacy, Bismarck High, Mandan, Minot, Williston, St Mary’s Central, Watford, Turtle Mountain and Jamestown.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Watford and Turtle Mountain did not compete as a team, but had players participate as individuals.

Dickinson’s varsity players Jack Homiston and Evan Groll tied among the Midget’s top players with a score 11 over par for 83. Jace Elkin’s 87 would also be noteworthy for Dickinson High’s overall team placement at the invitational.

Dickinson JV squad also did not allow their inexperience in competition to falter, shooting competitively — all carding in the low 90’s.

Century defended their home course with the top team score of 306, having five of their players place in the top 10 individually.

Mandan’s varsity senior Trey Hohbein was the medalist with his individual score of one under par at an elite level 71 on the day. Second place went to Century's Logan Schoepp by a mere four strokes.

Team Standings (in order of score):

Century (306); Minot(314); Williston (326); St. Mary’s (336); Dickinson (345), Bismarck High (347); Bismarck Legacy (349); Mandan (350); Jamestown (362)

Dickinson Players scores:

Varsity - Jack Homiston (83); Evan Groll (83); Jace Elkin (87); Brycen Yazzie (98), Grant Bittner, (101); Josh Hood (92)

JV- Kyller Hughes (90); Evan Lubken (91); Ty Nelson (94); Kaden Hintz (93)