Blue Hawks women's team earns sixth-consecutive NSAA championship meet

Men's team takes second in home meet at Biesiot Activities Center

Dickinson State University hosted the track and field Conference Championships for the Noeth Star Athletic Association last weekend.
Josiah C. Cuellar / The Dickinson Press

DICKINSON – It’s the sixth go-round for the Dickinson State University Blue Hawks ladies track & field team on the winners’ stand after they earned a home-victory in the North Star Athletic Association Conference Championship Meet over the weekend. That came on the strength of 300 total team points for the women at Biesiot Activities Center as DSU dodged raindrops to defeat second-place Viterbo University and third-place Dakota State’s 143.

There were numerous accolades over the weekend, including the coach of the year award won by DSU’s Shayne Wittkopp for the women’s side, and Kori Nagel winning the NSAA’s 2023 Most Valuable Athlete award on the strength of her winning shot-put (14.86m), hammer (50.74m) and discus (44.57m) throws, while Wrenzi Wrzesinski won Athlete of the Meet for her performances in winning the 110m hurdles and placing second in the 100m, 200m, and 400m dashes and teaming up for second in the 4x100m relay.

Dakota State took home its fourth-consecutive title on the wet track by scoring 310.5 for a meet record and 10 individual events, overall. DSU's men's team, meanwhile, came in with 206 points and Viterbo was third with 120.

Martin Farver earned Male Athlete of the Meet with a total of four all-conference performances in the winning 100m and 200m races – including a conference-record 21.04 in the 200m – and second-place in the 400m dash with a team-winning 4x100m relay.

Among the other top-6 performances during the meet were DSU’s third-place 4x400m relay team of Raylee Wallis, Shaylee DeBeer, Caitlin Dyer and Fane Sauvakacolo and Grace Timm’s second-place time in the 5000m run at 19:18.35, with a winning 3000m steeplechase time of 11:22.45. Kaitlynn McColly, meanwhile, earned a blue-ribbon in the 400m hurdles with a 1:04.75 and Tinley Pearson was fifth for DSU while Jewel Olson took first in the 800m run at 2:22.64, Elizabeth Widmer earning a third-place 2:23.54 and Natalie Lile taking fifth. Olson also won the 400m dash in 57.01 and Lauren Taylor was second in the 1500m run with a time of 5:04.38. The 4x100m relay team of Wrzesinski, Olson, Jocelyn Ott and Kyley Barnett took second with a time of 48.92.


In the field events for the women, McColly was second in the triple-jump with an 11.04m leap and Ott took fifth, while Tori Nygard was second in the hammer-throw at 49.94m and Bailey Hofland was fifth in the event. Nygard also finished second in the javelin with a mark of 37.65m and Alyssa Andress was third with 36.89m throw with McColly and Kiana Miller finishing fifth and sixth, respectively. Madison Wahl won the pole-vault with a mark of 3.55m and Cassidy Jorenson was third with a 3.25m mark, while Kelsee Cummings was fifth in the shot-put and Adarra Haglund took first in the high-jump with a 1.65m leap with a second-place finish from McColly at 1.55m. The long-jump was won by Ott with a mark of 5.66m, while McColly took third with a 5.45m leap and Katya Baranko was fifth.

For the men’s events, the team of Carl Askins, Kaholo Toaves, Hayden Lockie and Nathan Schwartz took third in the 4x400m relay with a time of 3:26.6 and Mustafa Taylor was fourth in the 200m dash while Jacob Jessen took fifth in the 400m hurdles.

In the 5000m run, Cole Jensen finished in sixth and Hayden was fifth in the 800m run/dash, while Schwartz was fourth in the 400m dash with a 50.72 and the 4x100m relay team ended up fifth. Griffin Obrigewitch was fifth in the 300m steeplechase.

In the field events for the men were DSU’s Dylan Dahlgren and Nathan Woodruff, who finished second and third in the hammer-throw with marks of 52.6m and 51.65, respectively, while Jacob Sviholec and Dylan Jeffus were fifth- and sixth-place in the triple-jump, respectively. Woodruff turned in a second-place 43.43m throw in the discus and Brian Steger was fourth with a 40.90m mark and Brendon Rassmussen took fifth, while Woodruff, Rasmussen and Dahlgren were third- through fifth-places in the shot-put with Woodruff tossing a 14.67m mark and Rassmussen landing at 14.32m.

Tyce Dahlberg took fifth-place in the high-jump and Jeffus, Jevon Kreidt and Ryan Fenley were second- through fourth-places in the pole-vault with marks of 3.65m, 3.2m and 3.2m, respectively.

For more information about the Dickinson State track & field teams, please see the pages of your Dickinson Press and/or visit .

Gaylon is a sportswriter from Jensen Beach, Fla., but has lived all over the world. Growing up with an athletic background gave him a love of sports that led to a journalism career in such places as Enid, Okla., Alamogordo, N.M., Pascagoula, Miss. and Viera, Fla. since 1998. His main passion is small-town community sports, particularly baseball and soccer.
What To Read Next
Get Local