Dickinson to send 12 to state tourney

MANDAN -- The Dickinson High wrestling team is just where it wants to be. "We've got 12 guys going to state," head coach Cody Wolf said. "And qualifying for the state duals isn't a bad way to cap off the (West Region) tournament." The Midgets had...

MANDAN -- The Dickinson High wrestling team is just where it wants to be.

"We've got 12 guys going to state," head coach Cody Wolf said. "And qualifying for the state duals isn't a bad way to cap off the (West Region) tournament."

The Midgets had two wrestlers compete in the championship matches Saturday at the West Region, but both had to settle for runner-up finishes.

Bismarck High's Drew Spaulding pinned Midgets senior Pat Tangen in the first period at 1:23 in their 145-pound title match.

Dickinson senior Adam Grimsley lost by a 16-8 major decision to Tayln Johnson of Bismarck High at 189 pounds.


Ryan Yates took home third place, beating Reese Paulson of Bismarck High by a 3-1 decision at 215.

Seventh-grader Bryton Brien lost a 4-2 decision to Robert Poitra from Belcourt at 119, but also became the Midgets' state tournament starter in the weight class.

"Bryton really came through for us and had a nice tournament," Wolf said. "We are excited going into the state tournament and especially qualifying for the state duals it helps everyone out."

Alec Lindsey (125) took fourth, Matthew Berg (125) took fifth, Ryder Peterson (135) was sixth, Tyrell Anderson (152) and Jade Dirk (171) finished seventh and Jeremiah Bernston (13) and Jesse Shypkoski (145) finished eighth.

The top eight finishers advance to the Class A state individual tournament.


103: Curt Zachmeier, Mandan, pinned Adam Blees, Bismarck, 4:56. 112: Timmy West, Bismarck Century, def., Tanner Crissler, Belcourt, 11-7. 119: Keenan Ternes, Mandan, def., Izec Neer, Bismarck Century, 10-8. 125: Paul Michaelson, Williston, def., Jordan Eckholm, Bismarck Century, 6-3. 130: Ryan Blees, Bismarck, def., Kirby Kain, Williston, 8-1. 135: Kameron Hamley, Belcourt, def. Eddie Maisey, Williston, 6-2. 140: Joe Schumacher, Bismarck, major decision, Brent Mittleider, Jamestown, 14-1. 145: Drew Spaulding, Bismarck, pinned, Pat Tangen, Dickinson, 1:23. 152: Brock Krumm, Bismarck St. Mary, def., Tyrell Miller, Century, 13-6. 160: Kip Jangula, Bismarck, pinned Tate Schwagler, Mandan, 5:20. 171: Jacob Sargent, Williston, def., Leonard Eller, Belcourt, 10-8. 189: Tayln Johnson, Bismarck, major decision Adam Grimsley, Dickinson, 16-8. 215: Meyer Bohn, Bismarck Century, def., Taylor Hellman, Mandan, 6-4. HWT: Nick Nelson, Bismarck, def., Marcus Laverdure, Belcourt, 8-3.

Third Place


103: Grant Laducer, Belcourt, pinned, Nathan Humann, Bismarck Century. 112: Terry LaVallie Jr., Belcourt, def. Jaden Horsted, Jamestown, technical fall 18-2. 119: Cody Haugen, Minot, major decision Tate Hoffman, Bismarck, 10-1. 125: Dane Fischer, Bismarck St. Mary, def. Alec Lindsey, Dickinson, 8-6. 130: Thomas Peterson, Mandan, pinned Joshua McCormick, Bismarck St. Mary, 1:50. 135: Dustin Brendel, Bismarck, def., Alex Koppy, Mandan, 6-4. 140: Adam Stein, Mandan, def. John Schwartz, Bismarck St. Mary, 14-7. 145: Anthony Pitner, Minot, decision Calvin Sandberg, Williston, 6-2. 152: Wyatt Azure, Belcourt, def. Ethan Dockter, Bismarck, 6-4. 160: Marcus Bausman, Minot, def. Tommy Moravec, Bismarck Century, technical fall, 19-4; 4:32. 171: Drew Kary, Bismarck, def. Landon Schmidt, Bismarck Century, 5-1. 189: Nick Erickson, Jamestown, def. Austin Were, Bismarck Century, 1-0. 215: Ryan Yates, Dickinson, def. Reese Paulson, Bismarck, 3-1. HWT: Joe Jackson, Bismarck Century, pinned Logan Massee, Mandan, 3:51.

Fifth Place

103: No match due to five-match limit. 112: Blake Allickson, Mandan, def. Waylon Zaste, Bismarck. 119: Robert Poitra, Belcourt, def. Bryton Brien, Dickinson, 4-2. 125: Matthew Berg, Dickinson, def. Jade Nein, Bismarck, 10-8. 130: Hunter Babeck, Bismarck Century, def. Lucus Maul, Williston, 9-8. 135: Alek Dallman, Jamestown, major decision Ryder Peterson, Dickinson, 11-1. 140: No match due to five-match limit. 145: Jon Lepp, Bismarck Century, def. Markus Noeske, Williston, 7-3. 152: David Rabe, Minot, def. Zane Braun, Jamestown, 4-2. 160: Zach Schuchard, Bismarck, major decision Eathan Gumke, Jamestown, 13-0. 171: No match due to five-match limit. 189: Adam Stevens, Williston, def. Skyler Poitra, Belcourt, default. 215: Donovan Zuck, Jamestown, pinned Devin Morin, Belcourt, 1:57. HWT: Clay Greenwood, Jamestown, pinned Ty Bakken, Williston, 0:25.

Seventh Place

103: Chris Willis, Bismarck Century, def., Sammy Maisey, Williston, 5-1. 112: Lane Kaseman, Bismarck, major decision Austin Huck, Bismarck St. Mary, 18-4. 119: Mitch Ova, Jamestown, def. Matt Cleary, Bismarck St. Mary, 9-5. 125: Jesse Hoffart, Minot, def. Jacob DeCoteau, Belcourt, default. 130: Geraldo Fox, Belcourt, def. Jeremiah Bernston, Dickinson, 11-5. 135: Alex Willey, Bismarck St. Mary, decision Brian Rabe, Minot, 5-0. 140: Dayne Haman, Minot, def. Christopher Pitner, Minot. 145: Konner Peterson, Mandan, def. Jesse Shypkowski, Dickinson, default. 152: Tyrell Anderson, Dickinson, pinned Alex Haaland, Williston, 2:18. 160: Alfredo Rosales, Williston, major decision Marcus Green, Minot, 10-1. 171: Jade Dirk, Dickinson, def. Phillip Pugh, Minot, 8-3. 189: Brandon Rodriguez, Belcourt, def. Anthony Lueder, Mandan, 3-2. 215: Brandon Sandberg, Williston, pinned Nick Nesdahl, Minot, 1:33. HWT: Seymour Page, Belcourt, def. Dustin Zieman, Minot, 3-1.

What To Read Next
Get Local