SUBSCRIBE NOW Just 99¢ for your first month



Pittsley leads all-Region 4 team

Class 1A, Region 4 was loaded with talented seniors this season. Brock Pittsley was the coaches' choice as the most talented of them all. Pittsley, a guard and defensive tackle from Killdeer, beat out a tough field for the region's Senior Athlete...

We are part of The Trust Project.

Class 1A, Region 4 was loaded with talented seniors this season. Brock Pittsley was the coaches' choice as the most talented of them all.

Pittsley, a guard and defensive tackle from Killdeer, beat out a tough field for the region's Senior Athlete of the Year honors.

The all-Region 4 team was announced Monday and included several standouts from Heart River, Killdeer, Richardton-Taylor, Grant County-Flasher, New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin and, of course, Class 1A state champion Hazen.

Hazen, Heart River and Richardton-Taylor-Hebron each had five first-team selections. Killdeer, Grant County-Flasher and New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin had four a piece.

Hazen's Rick Philion was named the Region 4 Coach of the Year. He also earned Class 1A Coach of the Year honors.


All-Region 4 Team

First team

Quarterbacks: Stetson Carr, Sr., Hazen; Taylor Krenz, Jr., Grant County-Flasher.

Running backs: Seth Ewoniuk, Sr., Heart River; Zach Cofer, Jr., New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin; Paul Koppinger, Sr., Richardton-Taylor-Hebron; John Knopik, So., Killdeer.

Offensive line: Robert Perrin, Sr., Richardton-Taylor-Hebron; Doug Koepplin, Sr., Grant County-Flasher; Matt Bopp, Jr., New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin; Seth Kriel, So., Hazen; Konnor Chinn, Sr., Killdeer; Mitch Krebs, Sr., Heart River.

Wide receivers: Zach Schmidt, Jr., Grant County-Flasher; Zach Hruby, Sr., Southern McLean.

Tight end: Dustin Iverson, Sr. Grant County-Flasher.

Defensive line: Matt Mormon, Sr., New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin; Michael Maas, Sr., Hazen; Brock Pittsley, Sr., Killdeer; Riley Obrigewich, Sr., Heart River; Logan Lacher, Jr., Richardton-Taylor-Hebron.


Linebackers: Hunter Fears, Jr., Hazen; Calum Blankenship, Jr., Killdeer; Seth Obritsch, Jr., Heart River; Chad Gullickson, Sr., Richardton-Taylor-Hebron; Taylor Heins, Sr., New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin.

Defensive backs: Cole Hecker, Sr., Heart River; Brett Scheriner, Sr., Southern McLean; Kasey Dressler, Sr., Richardton-Taylor-Hebron; Connor Doll, So., Hazen.

Second team

Quarterbacks: Christian Kulish, Sr., Killdeer.

Running backs: Bailey Stewart, Sr., Grant County-Flasher; Briar Bornemann, Jr., Hazen.

Offensive line: Chandler Rivinius, Jr., Grant County-Flasher; Austin Hintz, So., Hazen; Randy St. Clair, Standing Rock; Brey Gegelman, Sr., Killdeer.

Wide receivers: J.W. Froelich, Jr., Grant County-Flasher; Trenton Rohr, So., Killdeer; Steven Weidner, Sr., Richardton-Taylor-Hebron.

Tight end: Andrew Hulm, Jr., New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin; Cody Johnson, Jr., Killdeer; Brady Olson, Sr., Heart River.


Defensive line: Riley Rohde, Sr., Killdeer; Denzel Sanders, So., Hazen; Jake Engleter, Sr., New Salem; Skyler Rohrich, So., Southern McLean; Jade Standing Bear, Jr., Standing Rock.

Linebackers: Ethan Hoger, Jr., New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin; Dillon LaBlanc, Jr., Heart River; Tucker Burqquist, So., Southern McLean; Lane Aune, Jr., Richardton-Taylor-Hebron; Mason Steinmentz, Jr., Grant County-Flasher.

Defensive backs: Dominick Opp, Jr., Hazen; Tucker Beck, Jr., Killdeer; Jaden Schmidt, So. Richardton-Taylor-Hebron; Chris Fischer, So., Grant County-Flasher.

Senior Athlete of the Year: Brock Pittsley, G-DT, Killdeer.

Coach of the Year: Rick Philion, Hazen.

All-Badlands Conference

Hazen: Stetson Carr, QB-LB; Michael Maas, OL-DL; Hunter Fears, LB; Seth Kreil, OL/LB; Connor Doll, WR/DB; Denzel Sanders, OL/DL; Nate Lientz, RB/LB; Dominick Opp, RB/DB.

Killdeer: Brock Pittsley, OL/DL; Konnor Chinn, OL/DL; Brey Gegelman, OL/DL; Calum Blankenship, TE/LB; Trenton Rohr, WR/DB; John Knopik, RB/LB; Riley Rohde, FB/DE; Christian Kulish, QB.

Heart River: Cole Hlebechuk, LB; Isaiah Marschner, DE; Dylan LeBlanc, LB; Tyler Fischer, DL; Clayton Tangen, LB; Tyson Kudrna, QB; Brady Olson, TE/DB.

Grant County-Flasher: Dustin Iverson, TE/LB; Douglas Koepplin, OL/DL; Taylor Krenz, QB; Zackary Schmidt, WR/DB; J.W. Froelich, WR/DB.

Richardton-Taylor-Hebron: Paul Koppinger, FB/LB; Chad Gullickson, TE/LB; Kasey Dressler, WR; Robert Perrin, OL; Logan Lacher, DL.

Southern McLean: Zach Hruby, HB/LB; Brett Schreiner, HB/DB; Skyler Rohrich, OL/DL.

New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin: Matt Morman, DL; Taylor Heins, LB; Zach Cofer, RB.

Standing Rock: Davis Fool Bear, LB; David Murphy, QB.

What to read next
DICKINSON — Howdy Dickinson. Brr, it’s cold here! My name is Amber Neate and I’m the new sports reporter for the Dickinson Press.
Midgets stand their ground against Bismarck Legacy and hold their top spot in the WDA
Athletes come from communities across the state, including Bismarck, Dickinson, Fargo, Grand Forks, Jamestown, Mandan, Minot and Valley City.
Hettinger-Scranton's Pierce Maddox was the player of the game as the winning pitcher, striking out seven batters in seven innings.